WFSC Board of Directors

A team of volunteers governs the Whitby Figure Skating Club. The Board of Directors is elected yearly at the Annual General Meeting. Directors are responsible for various portfolios including Bingo, Fundraising, Publicity, Special Events, Ice Coordinator, Hospitality, Synchronized Skating, and Test chair. The board meets monthly to attend to club business.
 

Constitution & By-laws

 

2017-2018 Members of the Board of Directors

 

Cheryl D'Andrade President president@whitbyfsc.com
Karen Hind 1st Vice President 1stvice@whitbyfsc.com
JP Petines 2nd Vice President 2ndvice@whitbyfsc.com
Candice Kay
Secretary info@whitbyfsc.com
Christine Abbassakoor Registrar info@whitbyfsc.com
Deborah Taylor
Treasurer treasurer@whitbyfsc.com
Marina Headrick Test Chair testchair@whitbyfsc.com
Shannon Hunt Session Chair info@whitbyfsc.com
Wendy Fee Website/Social Media techsupport@whitbyfsc.com
Catherine Hill Public Relations publicity@whitbyfsc.com
Kristie MacKinnon Ways & Means fundraising@whitbyfsc.com
Ryan Gibbons Coaches Representative rgibbonsskate@gmail.com
Diane Walker Synchro icefyresecretary@outlook.com
Kathy Jaeger Recreation info@whitbyfsc.com

 

Roles and Responsibilities of the Board

  • The overall general good management of the club
  • Acts within the meaning of The Ontario Business Act
  • Ensure that the Club acts in a professional and businesslike manner
  • Negotiate ice requirements
  • Review schedules for approval by the Board
  • Set fees for skating schools
  • Liaise with other directors and chairpersons
  • Prepare contracts
  • Review policies and procedures
  • Enforce rules and regulations
  • Deal with bad accounts
  • Prepare recommendations for the Board
  • Sit on various committees
  • Acquisition of equipment
  • Oversee, assist and guide Club Treasurer (in addition to the above)
  • Budget development and control
  • Financial reports to be presented to Board of Directors on a monthly basis
  • Sign cheques with one member of the Executive Committee
  • Assist office administrator with accounting and bookkeeping issues
  • Ensure the books of the club are ready for the annual audit
  • Meet with the auditors at the conclusion of the audit to discuss the report and any concerns
  • Makes recommendations to the Board on the selection of an auditor each year
Sponsors
Add Sponsors here